Florida’s Homestead Exemption is the most widely used and allows up to $50,000 to be deducted from the assessed value of a primary residence. To qualify, the owner must establish Gadsden County as his or her legal domicile, and this may be validated by producing a valid Florida driver’s license that matches the address shown on the Homestead Exemption application. Once established, this exemption is automatically renewed each year. Property owners are required by law to inform the Property Appraiser of any change in residency or marital status so that the exemption may be reviewed.
Military personnel transferred out of Florida can retain their exemption by bringing a copy of their orders to the Property Appraiser’s office.
Exemptions of $5,000 are extended to widows, widowers and the disabled. Anyone who is totally disabled may be entirely exempted from property taxes as long as their income does not exceed the limits set by Florida law. Those with 100 percent military service-related disability and non-profit and religious organizations may qualify for total property tax exemption.
In order for any exemption to be effective for a particular year, an application must be filed by March 1 of that year. You may file applications for exemptions for the following year from March 2 through December 31.
Florida Statute 196.011(11) mandates that Social Security numbers of the applicant and the applicant’s spouse, if any, be provided on new exemption applications for them to be deemed complete. This information is safeguarded as CONFIDENTIAL.